My yearly annual trek to Wimbledon for the tennis tournament was on a beautiful warm day, but thankfully not the overwhelming heat of the previous day.

For me, I just like to see Tennis in the summer, not everyone’s cup of tea I know, but each to their own.

The Wimbledon Tennis club was looking as gorgeous as ever. The grass immaculate and the lovely Aorangi terrace decked out like a lovely flower show. They don’t often show you that on the TV.

Tremendous excitement this year as I was finally going to see Rafa Nadal play on Centre Court. It’s the luck of the draw who you get to see, but year after year I had not seen him. For me it completed the set as I have now seen most of the top ten men play.

Rafa

Sadly it wasn’t to be Rafa’s day, not 100% against an inspired opponent. But there were no tantrums, or spats. He never gave up the game but good wasn’t good enough. He was gracious enough to admit that in defeat.

The Swiss Fed Express was just his usual best. Certain to be acknowledged one of the all-time greats, he just defies explanation when playing. He’s got the shots and the time to make it look too easy. He probably won’t have the power to win it, but he’s a joy to watch.

Federer

And that was it for another year for me. The day over all too soon. Plenty more to watch on the TV, but it’s not the same as being there. Advantage Wimbledon………

Centre Court

