Well it didn’t start out too promising with my hair standing on end on the train platform, thanks to the spring high gale. Thankfully I was in the comfort of the train carriage as we passed through the horizontal rain. I think Toohie had a first hand experience of it climbing into the car!

But we arrived at the Crich Tramway Village in one piece and the rain held off as we admired the classic motorbikes on display for the day and had a ride on the tram to the top of windy ridge. As always lots of tea was drunk, sweeties were consumed and Toohie bravely tackled one of my half hearted tarts with good grace.
Managed to make it to the bus before the rain set in on the way home, but at least I was treated to a rainbow over Denby. I thought it was a good omen to a splendid day with plenty of fun and maybe the promise of a good working week.

Here are the bikes.

Bikes and owners having a good chin wag outside the pub.

My favourite, all gleaming chrome, creaky leather and a throaty roar. Built with pride.

