Still sorting through photos!
Last year I went to Ghent in Belgium on Eurostar from London. Train journey was very pleasant, my first time on Eurostar!
I enjoyed my trip but Ghent town centre did seem to be under construction at the time. New tram lines and pavements I think.
One of the highlights of the trip was a walking tour around the historic centre of town. For late August, early evening, it was very pleasant.
We walked past the castle, which also seemed to be in a state of reconstruction, so the photos were not too good!
Near by was a curio/antique? shop. I’m not sure how to describe it really, but it had the most fascinating window display. I was particularly impressed with the magicians hat and rat.

The walking tour came to an end near the canal and lots of waterfront restaurants. Call me predictable, but cold beer, steak and frites was the ideal way to finish my day!

