There’s always a great temptation to make food presents for Christmas gifts. I think it can be a great idea if the gift is well received as “homemade”; I can find the time in what becomes a manic month at home and at work to make them and, most importantly, if I can stop myself from eating them!
I found the following recipe for Almond and Pistachio Florentines, and it sounds so scrummy I might have to find some time to make them.

85 g Butter
85 g castor sugar
2tbsp honey
75g plain flour
Zest ½ orange
50g glace cherries, chopped
50g dried apricots, slices
75g flaked almonds
50g pistachios, chopped
50g each dark and white chocolate
3 lined baking sheets

Heat oven to 180 C, gas mark 4. Melt the butter sugar and honey in a pan. Allow to cool and stir in the flour, zest, fruit and nuts. Scoop teaspoons on to a baking sheet, 5 to 8 cms apart. Flatten with a spoon.
Bake for 8 to 10 minutes. If you wish to neaten the edges, then stamp with a cookie cutter while hot.
Melt the two chocolates, and dip half of each Florentine in the alternating mixtures, then drizzle over the other chocolate. Allow to harden, then store in airtight containers. Makes around 24.

