dried lavender

I love the idea of a really nice ice cream, and most commercial ones do not hit the spot for me. But my life doesn’t need another occasional kitchen gadget like an ice cream maker. So this recipe seemed both unusual and simple, suggesting that an ice cream maker was not necessarily required. I think I might well try this out when summer returns to these shores.

300 ml Single cream
1 tsp lavender flower heads (tight buds but showing colour)
4 medium egg yolks
50 g caster sugar

Bring the cream to the boil with the lavender. Take off the heat and leave for ten minutes. Stir in the egg yolks and the sugar. Return to a gentle heat, stirring all the time. As soon as the mixture thickens, strain and cool. Churn in an ice cream maker or when cold, put in a shallow plastic container and freeze. Stir with a fork every hour to stop crystals forming.

