Well, every reason to believe that a summer, sunny Sunday would be nice and relaxing until a blast from my past tried to provoke me into an argument. I didn’t rise to it, but I doubt it will go away until I do. I don’t need this confrontation so I reached for my Nigella Express book and rustled up some comfort food. It’s really simple, tastes great and is also a good way of utilising old bread instead of throwing it away.

Doughnut French Toast

2 eggs
4 tsp vanilla extract
60ml milk
4 slices from a small white loaf
25g butter
50g caster sugar

Beat the eggs with the milk and vanilla in a wide shallow bowl.
Soak the bread into the eggy mixture for 5 minutes, turning over to cover both sides.
Heat the butter in a frying pan and fry the egg-soaked bread until golden and scorched in parts on both sides.
Put sugar on a plate and dip the cooked bread in it until coated like a sugared doughnut.

Mmmmm……….I put a little cinnamon into the sugar too.

All my troubles dissolved away like sugar on the tongue. Tomorrow’s another day I guess, but I’ll face that down if I feel strong enough 😉

