I read with amusement this morning that service announcements on the London Underground are to include the words of great thinkers such as Gandhi, Albert Einstein and Jean-Paul Sartre.

It’s all the bright idea of Turner Prize-nominated artist Jeremy Deller who has compiled a list of quotations to be used by Tube drivers, to make travelling on the Underground more enjoyable and thought provoking.
The phrases weren’t released but will be included in communications with passengers on the network’s Piccadilly Line.

I guess it’s not such a bad idea but I often have many thoughts when my bus doesn’t arrive, usually in the middle of a rain storm or I am stuck in traffic on the way home. Thoughts like, “where is the bloody bus” etc. I guess that’s not a phrase worthy of Sartre…………these are:-

“One cannot become a saint when one works sixteen hours a day.”

“Only the guy who isn’t rowing has time to rock the boat.”

Good thoughts to have on the way to work.

