Whilst spring cleaning in the Kitchen (like you do on a public holiday?) I had the radio tuned to the “Chart” of the most popular “pop” songs in the UK over the last 75 years. Very interesting it was too. Not someones subjective selection, or a result of a vote. The chart is based on the payments from the PPL for every time the song is played in public. Could be in the supermarket, in the gym, in a night club, on a juke box. Even public performance for which a royalty is due to the composer. And here’s the top ten, I thought Queen may top it but no, the were only no. 2. No. 4 for Wet, Wet, Wet has a lot to do with it being a popular song at weddings me thinks ๐Ÿ˜‰

TOP 10 MOST PLAYED SONGS
1. Procol Harum – A Whiter Shade Of Pale
2. Queen – Bohemian Rhapsody
3. Everly Brothers – All I Have To Do Is Dream
4. Wet Wet Wet – Love Is All Around
5. Bryan Adams – (Everything I Do) I Do It For You
6. Robbie Williams – Angels
7. Elvis Presley – All Shook Up
8. Abba – Dancing Queen
9. Perry Como – Magic Moments
10. Bing Crosby – White Christmas
Source: PPL

