I’ve never really studied this in detail before, but the more you do the more fascinating it becomes, for me anyway. I really ought to see this in it’s full glory! And open my eyes a bit more!

Courtauld Gallery London

There’s a wonderful commentary on this painting on the Guardian website by Philip Pullman (It’s one of his favourites)
Suzon, the girl at the bar?

“The more one reflects on Manet’s painting, the more difficult it becomes to project a straightforward narrative onto it, and the more conscious and uncertain we become of our position as spectators.

The barmaid, the reflection, not the reflection, the floating counter, who is the man, the bottles, the flowers, Venus………etc., thousands of words have described the scene. For now I just like looking at it, too popular or not!

manet

