Well I was unable to compete with Toohie’s baking day, but I did throw myself into some Cheese Straws. Often very dry and uninspiring I decided to give the recipe I saw on the Hairy Bakers Christmas special a go. And I have to say they were VERY nice!

375g Puff Pastry (ready rolled if you like)
3 Slices of Parma Ham in strips
100g of Gorgonzola
1 tbsp Celery Seeds (although I could find these anywhere, including Waitrose, so I used freshly ground coarse black pepper)
1 free range egg, beaten

Preheat oven, Gas mark 6
Roll out puff pastry to a thin sheet
Lay on strips of Parma ham on one half of pastry, crumble on the Gorgonzola.
Fold the pastry over and roll out again. This will spread the cheese over the ham, as it is quite creamy.
Trim the edge, brush with beaten egg and sprinkle over the pepper, or celery seeds.
Cut into 1 cm strips, twist and place on a baking sheet.
Bake for 20 to 25 minutes. Allow to cool a little.

These were lovely warm, and they weren’t too shabby a day after, not as crisp but I didn’t want to waste them!
Thinking about it, maybe black pepper is the better option as we all know that anything with celery in it is the work of the devils vegetable assistant πŸ˜‰

The Hairy Bakers Christmas special on BBC TV was very entertaining, if you get the chance to see it then I recommend you do πŸ™‚

